Search Search
About Us
You are here:   About Us > Sacraments


The Catholic Church is a 'sacramental' church - she lives by signs and symbols. We as persons need to know that Jesus is with us- day-by-day, in times of choice, at times of crises. Jesus wants us to know He is there for us. The Catholic Church, as a whole, is a sign that Jesus is with us. The sacraments of the Church help us nourish, strengthen, and express our faith. Through the sacraments, Jesus remains with His people, strengthening, healing, feeding, and forgiving them as they face life’s challenges.

The Catholic Church celebrates seven Sacraments, which were instituted by Christ during his earthly ministry and which continue to define the liturgical life of the Church today. The Sacraments nourish, strengthen, and express faith.



How do we know that we are a part of His Church? Baptism is the first sacrament of initiation. The sign that Jesus uses is water - flowing water with the words "In the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit." Jesus knows that water makes clean, refreshes, and gives life. We know that water can cause death. The first way of baptizing someone is to plunge that person underwater (immersion) (death) and then lift him or her out of the water symbolizing a new life - the life of Christ in his Church.

Another way is to pour water over the person's head (immersion lite). Another way of initiation into the church is Baptism of Fire where a person is slain because he or she will not renounce Jesus and His Church. Another way is Baptism of desire where a person wants to be one with the Church but the usual ways are not accessible.

Infants can be baptized soon after birth. At the time of baptism, parents vow to practice their faith and provide a Catholic upbringing for the child. Adults who have never been baptized take part in the RCIA (Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults), and will typically be baptized at the Easter Vigil. The Catholic Church recognizes baptisms from other Christian denominations that baptize in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. Thus, a person can only be baptized once.

The date of baptizing an infant can be any time - usually on a Sunday after or during Mass. Please call the rectory to set up a date.

Sacrament of Reconciliation

PenanceA prelude to the next Sacrament of Initiation (Eucharist) is this sacrament also known as confession. After the age of reason (seven years old according to the Church), a person can deny Jesus and his commandments for life in the Church. If a person turns his or her back on the Christian Way, Truth, and Life there is an opportunity to come back to the Church. Jesus knows the person needs to say "I'm sorry" and to hear the words "You're forgiven." Jesus provides that opportunity in the Sacrament of Reconciliation. Jesus gave the power to forgive sins and say to the penitent "You're forgiven" to his priests.

The 'confessional' is available every Wednesday and Friday at 6 pm; other times especially during Advent and Lent; and by appointment.



How do we sustain our life in the Church? How are we fed? Jesus brought his friends around a supper table; took the bread and said "This is my Body." He also took the cup of wine and said, "This is my Blood." Whenever we do this in memory of Him, we are part of Him and He is part of us. Our lives are intermingled and we grow together as His Church. This is the second stage of initiation in God's Church.


When we proclaim to the Church at large and to the world that we are Catholic members of the Church of Jesus, Jesus wants to be with us. The sign is the use of oil that has been used by the Church through the centuries to consecrate, to make holy, to separate someone from the world and include that person officially into the Church. The Sacrament seals that person in the Holy Spirit of Jesus and completes the initiation into the Church.


MarriageThe Church has a rich tradition on sacramental marriage and conventional union. The Old Testament authors write of God making a covenant with the chosen people and promising them that they will never be forsaken. The New Testament authors write of Jesus as the new covenant and compare the relationship of Jesus with the Church to the relationship of a husband and wife. The matrimonial covenant, by which a man and a woman establish between themselves a partnership for the whole of life, is by its nature ordered toward the good of the spouses and the procreation and education of offspring.

Matrimony, or Marriage, like Holy Orders, is a sacrament that consecrates for a particular mission in building up the Church. It is seen as a sign of the love between Christ and the Church, which is established between spouses in a permanent and exclusive bond, sealed by God. The Sacrament gives couples the grace they need to attain holiness in their married life and for responsible acceptance and upbringing of their children.

Persons intending Marriage should contact the rectory at least six months before they intend to marry.

Holy Orders

Holy Orders is the sacrament by which bishops, priests and deacons are ordained and receive the power and grace to perform their sacred duties. The sacred rite by which orders are conferred is called ordination. The apostles were ordained by Jesus at the Last Supper so that others could share in his priesthood. Holy Orders, which was instituted by Christ himself, is administered by the laying on of hands by the Bishop, through which the priest and deacon is given the power to serve the Church through his preaching, teaching and celebration of the Sacraments. Only the priest can say Mass; hear confessions, and confer the Sacrament of the Sick.

Anointing of the Sick

There is no greater crises to faith than sickness - sickness of mind, body, or spirit. Jesus wants to be with us at these times to strengthen us in our belief in Him. Oil is a sign of healing and strength. So at the time of illness, Jesus gave the power to his priests to use the holy oils to anoint the sick.

This sacrament can be administered at any time. Persons should contact him during the course of any critical illness not just at the 'hour of death'. This sacrament is meant for the living who are in crisis to let them know that the Church is with them in their need and Jesus stands beside them in their want.

Thus the seven signs that lead us to the mystery of Jesus in our lives in times of crises or choice.